Location of Lunigiana

Lunigiana is an historical rather than a political region that lies in the very north of Tuscany in the province of Massa Carrara, bordering on Liguria and Emilia Romagna.  Its borders are ambiguous. Today, the industrialised coastal strip of Massa, Carrara, and Montignoso is not considered part of Lunigiana. Traditionally, the coastal plain of the River Magra in Liguria was also considered part of the region. This part of Lunigiana is now part of Liguria.

Whatever the current administrative borders, there can be no separation of history, culture and traditions. The backbone of Lunigiana remains the Magra river, from its source to the sea, as well as related tributaries  and the surrounding areas.

map of modern lunigianaclick on the map to enlarge it

The following municipalities form part of modern administrative Lunigiana: Aulla, Bagnone, Casola, Comano, Filattiera, Mulazzo, Fivizzano, Fosdinovo, Licciana Nardi, Podenzana, Pontremoli, Tresana, Villafranca and Zeri.

The region offers excellent access to the La Spezia-Parma motorway and the Florence-Genoa motorway, making it easy to get to popular tourist destinations, as well as to the airports of Pisa, Genoa and Parma.

Approximate distances from Aulla to:

Ancient Lunigiana

Ancient Lunigiana covered a much larger area than it does today, extending into Emilia Romagna in the North, down to La Spezia on the coast of Liguria in the South, and over the Apuane Alps into the Garfagnana in the province of Lucca.

ancient lunigiana

Location of Lunigiana appeared on Ciao Lunigiana on 8 April 2013. All rights reserved.